WordPress Tutorials

Home » Learning » WordPress Tutorials » Managing Users

Managing Users

Users are anyone who can login to the site and access something the general public can’t. If your website is a simple operation the only user you’ll have to manage is yourself.

Edit Your Profile

To manage your own profile:

Wordpress user profile editing screen
The user profile editing screen

Many of these options only appear on your author page.

Plugin User Options

Some plugins add more options to user profiles. Two great plugins that we add to many WordPress installs are Jetpack and SEO by Yoast.

Jetpack

If you have the ‘Jetpack’ plugin installed you may have additional user profile options. These are:

Wordpress Jetpack proofreading button
Proofreading button
Wordpress Proofreading message
When editing or publishing a post you will get this message with ‘Automatically proofread content when…’ is checked.

SEO by Yoast

If you have the ‘SEO by Yoast’ plugin installed you may have these additional user profile options. They are:

Read more about titles and meta descriptions at this SEO article. These settings only really come into play if you have an author page in your theme.

Managing Users

To get to the user management screen use the navigation menu to navigate to Users → All Users. You will see a screen like the image below.

WordPress user management page
The user management screen

Adding a New User

To add a new user:

WordPress adding a new user
The add new user screen with details filled out

Roles

Roles determine what a user has permission to do when they are logged in. By default the roles that WordPress comes with is:

An administrator can use all the capabilities of WordPress, an editor has slightly fewer capabilities than an administrator but more than an author and so on. Some plugins add new roles for example the WooCommerce plugin for setting up online shops introduces a shop manager role. Giving a user a more restricted role will:

As an admin you set the user’s role when creating a new user or you can change it by editing their profile. You can read about roles in more detail at the WordPress Roles and Capabilities page.

Deleting a User

To delete a user:

Wordpress delete user dialog box
If the user you are deleting has written content you should attribute it to someone

Note that you cannot delete your own user profile. If you really want to delete your own profile you’ll have to login to a different profile to do it.

Editing a Users Profile

If you are an administrator you can edit any user’s profile. To edit another persons profile:

Resetting a User’s Password

To reset a user’s password:

What Next?

Next tutorial is learning how to manage the widgets of your site.

Search
Phoenix News Desk
Back to top

Please note our 08 7079 8668 landline is unavailable while we transfer to a new telephony provider. Dismiss